It’s hard but it is not hopeless… Filling the holes in your education

I have shared with you my experience as an architect… what ultimately failed me or made me fail… and want to quit.

But I’ll repeat it here, in the wake of a TED talk I just listened to: the tendency of life and formal education to march on leaving you with holes in your understanding, holes in your knowledge.

In the third year of my studies I spent nearly the whole first semester in and out of hospitals, 10 weeks out of the 14 weeks. I manage to get a passing grade, but, looking back now, I would have been better off, had I been forced to repeat that semester a year later.

I had a big hole in my education. I could have had more than one hole… but I had one…

I never had any confidence as an architect that point on. This was in 1969, and I quit the profession in 1988. 19 years of living with inadequacy, impostor syndrome, fear of getting found out.

SOURCE: click to continue reading It’s hard but it is not hopeless… Filling the holes in your education

Leave a Reply

